How my self-published book became a Canadian bestseller

melissapart2web
Illustration by Steve Murray for the National Post

After I clicked “publish” on Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing program, I sat back and waited for my life to change.

It was as if I thought self-publishing my teen vampire novel, What Kills Me, would be transformative: kind of like when Prince Adam raises his sword and becomes He-Man. Following six months of writing and spending about $2,000 preparing my ebook for publication, by the power of Amazon, I was now an author.

Except that putting your book for sale on Amazon feels like dropping a single grain into a bag of rice — you need to paint it green or point it out, or else how will anyone distinguish it from the rest? So nothing happened. And I felt no different.

Read the rest of my self-publishing journey in the National Post, Dec. 14, 2012.

And in case you missed it: Part One: How and why I self-published

Also, you can find my alter ego, Wynne Channing, online:

Website | Blog

Facebook Twitter | Google+

Pinterest | Amazon Author Page | Goodreads

Youtube | LibraryThing

Where to buy the bestselling, top-rated novel: What Kills Me

Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo | iTunes | Goodreads

7 thoughts on “How my self-published book became a Canadian bestseller

  1. Marek Lach

    Well, I believe it was a struggle, but since you had written a vampire novel at this time, you’ve at least targeted the most thirsty audiences on the book market today already 🙂

    • Melissa Leong

      I agree that YA paranormal readers are a great fan base. But there are also a lot of vampire books out there. Readers said that they were “sick” of the genre and were reluctant to pick up my book after having read so many bad books on bloodsuckers. I feel like I had to work extra hard to prove that mine was different.

  2. JA

    Hi Melissa,

    Why did you decide to write your novel under a different name? I’ve often wondered how everything works out legally when authors do this. Obviously, it’s your work and you’re still getting paid. Was it just a matter of paperwork to put “Wynne Channing” on the cover?

  3. D

    You did an excellent job offering up a vamp novel that was intelligently took readers on an adventure. It’s unfair to pile your book into a genre filled with so many subpar titles. Keep up the incredible work!

Leave a Reply

