Dance life Q&A: What’s there to be nervous about?

Nothing to be nervous about except getting too addicted.

“We should consider every day lost in which we have not danced at least once.” 

– Friedrich Nietzsche

I started to salsa after someone told me that I wasn’t particularly a sexy dancer. So when I first began learning, my greatest fear was probably looking like a flailing doofus.

In a new regular Friday feature, we talk to Baila Boogaloo’s dancers about the moves, the beats, the nerves and the fervor. Today, we discuss first-time jitters.

Q What were you most nervous about when you started learning to salsa?

What made me the most nervous when I started dancing was the first nine girls that said no. But there was always the 10th one that said yes. – Joaquin Martinez, artistic director of the Baila Boogaloo Dance Co.

Being the guy with no sense of rhythm. I had heard right from the start that timing was one of the most important things in a dance. – Zubair Towhid, advanced level dancer

I want to be the best at anything I do and I feared being showed up by others. After the music starts, its far too much fun to worry about such petty things. – Shawn Rippa, performance level, pro team understudy

Leave a Reply

