Winona Ryder on that awful Mel Gibson

Photo credit: Mark Abrahams for GQ

In Grade 4, I got sent to the principal’s office for quoting from the film Heathers. I think the offending quote had the eff word in it and something do to with a chainsaw. In any case, I thought Winona Ryder was awesome.

She appears briefly in the Darren Aronofsky film, Black Swan; GQ interviewed the 39-year-old actress for its January issue.

Winona shares an unfortunate Mel Gibson anecdote: “I remember, like, fifteen years ago, I was at one of those big Hollywood parties. And he was really drunk. I was with my friend, who’s gay. He made a really horrible gay joke. And somehow it came up that I was Jewish. He said something about ‘oven dodgers,’ but I didn’t get it. I’d never heard that before. It was just this weird, weird moment. I was like, ‘He’s anti-Semitic and he’s homophobic.’ No one believed me!”

On playing the aging ballerina in Black Swan: “I thought it was a cool parallel…Being replaced by the young thing. I know that definitely happens in Hollywood. It’s harder to find good roles, and suddenly there’s new girls. I’m at that age I’ve been warned my whole life about.”

On Meryl: “It’s hard to imagine a time where Meryl Streep wasn’t the first choice for everything but I was reading some article, and she said something like, ‘Yeah, when I was around 38, 39, I turned to my husband and said, “Should we just call it a day, or should we try to kick the can down the road?” ‘ It was so weird to me to think about movies without her in them. But a lot of great actresses have chosen that.”

On that shoplifting incident: “It’s just like, nothing… I don’t, like, even… I mean, I know people still… I apologize, ’cause I understand the curiosity. I just don’t really want to go there.”

Leave a Reply

